V’Etchanan – Moses Speaks a Sonnet

Beseeching God, I asked him to relent.

I’ve come this far, now let me cross the river,

Unto the land to which we have been sent.

I’ve got a fractious people to deliver.

But God said no, I’m weary of your pleas.

You’ve had a lot, and now you’ll have no more.

Give Joshua the job, and he shall seize

The land I promised those who came before.

Remind the people of those words I spoke –

Ten utterances by which they shall live,

First rendered on the tablets that you broke,

Repeated as a sign that I forgive.

And as you fade off like a setting sun,

Remind the people that their God is One.

Leave a Reply

